Musical Playlisticle Monday

Welcome to Musical Playlisticle Monday, where I think of a topic and then come up with a list of five songs that I associate with that topic. It’s based upon a link-up that I used to participate in called “Twisted Mix-Tape Tuesday”.  Although this is not an official meme or link-up, you are welcome to play along if you like. (If there enough interest, I could turn this into a link-up in the future.)

The topic for this week’s “playlisticle” is the dreaded “earworm”. And earworm is a song that gets stuck in your head and torments you by playing in an infinite loop until you either crack or you get something else stuck in your head.

I’m actually very prone to earworms. Sometimes, the only way to get rid of the earworm infestation in my head is to play the song in question until I stop thinking about it.

I apologize if I torment you. However, I find that exorcising earworms to be very therapeutic. And if you feel you must, you are most certainly free to rid yourself of your own earworms in the comments.

 

1. “Dominique”-Sœur Sourire (1963)

This song has received somewhat of a revival, thanks to the TV show American Horror Story: Coven, but I remember hearing this played on the radio a lot in the early 1970s, when I was a very young child. That’s the thing about radio back then: they didn’t stop playing songs because they were old. As a result, I knew quite a few Sixties songs before the age of 5.

I know that this song caught my ear because it was sung in French and to my young years, it sounded like gibberish. This is one of those songs that would get stuck in my head over the years, and because no oldies station actually played it, I began to wonder if I had an imaginary song stuck in my head.

 

2. The Rapper-The Jaggerz (1970)

This song used to get stuck in my head a lot when I worked in a cheese factory after I graduated from high school. It got stuck there because I worked on a line that wrapped cheese in shrink wrap and sealed it on a flat iron.

Now mind you, this drove me nuts and made those long work days excruciating because the whole song would not play in my head.  It was the chorus….”Raaaaaaaaper, Rapper Rap, They Call Him The Rapper…” 

3. Una Paloma Blanca-George Baker Selection (1975)

Another song from my childhood. This is one of those songs that had different people recording different versions, but the George Baker Selection version is the one I remember the most, mostly because of the background singers and their Dutch accents.

 

4. Crazy Horses-The Osmonds (1974)

Long after the 1970s faded into history, the chorus of this song would get stuck in my head and it drove me nuts. When I found this video on You Tube, the demon was exorcised. I had a vague recollection of this song from both hearing it on the radio and from the brother’s performance of this on the Donny & Marie show.

I love the pimp-tastic 1970s outfits and the textbook display of “white people dancing”. 😉

In case you were wondering, “crazy horses” refers to automobiles.

 

5. Beans in My Ears-Serendipity Singers (1963)

I have a K-Tel compilation album called Dumb Ditties to thank for this song getting stuck in my head. I didn’t have the album but I remember the commercial to this day. Here it is, if you’re curious or need to jog your memory.

After watching this, you can understand why that song got stuck in my head. There were others from this commercial that also got stuck in my head.


Do you agree with my five picks? Disagree? How would your list look? Let me know in the comments. (Don’t post links to You Tube videos or WordPress will think you are spam and either chuck the comment or throw it over to moderation.) If you have a blog and want to play along, post your list of summer songs on your blog and leave a link to the post in the comments.

There is a catch: you have to explain why you chose that song. Yep.

playlisitclebadge